site  movies  celebs  music  news  showtimes  user  
Hello, Stranger Login | Sign up
ApunKaChoice » Article » West Indies are World Twenty20 champions
Latest On ApunKaChoice 
Article : Movie Review: '2 States' is a magical love story
2 States: A magical north-south love story you wish wouldn't end : 2 States Movie Review
Article : Sussanne sticks to Roshan surname
Article : Yash Raj film 'Titli' competes at Cannes
Article : Bipasha Basu, Harman Baweja looking for their love nest
Article : After National Award, 'Jolly LLB' team excited about 'Guddu Rangeela'
Article : Ranbir Kapoor my favourite co-star, Anurag Kashyap favourite director: Karan Johar
Slide Show : Watch: Andrew Garfield says ‘The Amazing Spider-Man 2’ is action packed
Article : Sanjay Dutt’s leaked MMS makes headlines!
Article : Bollywood congrats Riteish Deshmukh after ‘Yellow’ wins 3 National Awards

West Indies are World Twenty20 champions

West Indies crowned World T20 champions
By Indo-Asian News Service
Sun, Oct 07, 2012 18:08:40 GMT

West Indies are World Twenty20 champions ICC T20 world cup 2012
A spirited West Indies lifted their maiden World Twenty20 trophy with a brilliant 36-run win over hosts Sri Lanka in the final at the Premedasa Stadium in Colombo on Sunday.

West Indies bowled out Sri Lanka for 101 runs with eight balls to spare to lift a World Cup trophy after 33 years and an International Cricket Council (ICC) trophy after a gap of eight years.

West Indies' last win in an ICC tournament was in the Champions Trophy in 2004 and their last world title was the 50-over World Cup in 1979.

On Sunday, much was expected from Chris Gayle, who has been in a terrific form in the tournament, to break West Indies' long wait for a world title. But Gayle (3) disappointed by departing early as the West Indies made a slow start after skipper Darren Sammy opted to bat.

However, it was a brilliant 56-ball 78 by Marlon Samuels that took the Caribbean side to a modest 137 for six in 20 overs. Samuels was also adjudged as Man of the Match.

Sri Lanka made a poor start and despite valuable efforts from skipper Mahela Jayawardene (33) and Kumar Sangakkara (22) they suffered a middle-order collapse before being bundled out for 101 runs with eight balls to spare.

For Sri Lanka it was their fourth loss in the final of a major tournament. Jayawardene and Sangakkara have been part of all the four losses, 2007 World Cup, 2009 and 2012 World T20 and 2011 World Cup.

Spinner Sunil Narine was the pick of the Caribbean bowlers picking three for nine and skipper Darren Sammy got two for six.

Chasing 138, the hosts lost Tillekaratne Dilshan in the second over after he was squared up by a brilliant delivery from Ravi Rampaul (1/31) as the off-stump went cartwheeling towards the skipper.

Jayawardene and Sangakkara tried to resurrect the innings with their 42-run stand for the second wicket. But after Samuel Badree struck to remove Sangakkara with Kieron Pollard taking a low catch in the deep, Sri Lanka suffered a massive collapse.

From 48 for two, Sri Lanka lost the remaining eight wickets for just 52 runs. Nuwan Kulasekara came up with a cameo of 13-ball 26 but it came too late.

Earlier, West Indies made a poor and a slow start with both Johnson Charles and Gayle (3) back in the pavilion inside six overs for just 14 runs on board.

But Samuels stayed on and took his time before launching him into the Sri Lankan bowling attack. Samuels smashed six sixes and three fours in his 56-ball innings.

Samuels and Dwayne Bravo (14) were involved in a 59-run stand for the third wicket that helped the West Indies recover from a poor start.

Having scored just 32 runs in the first 10 overs, West Indies managed 106 in the last 10 thanks to the late charge by Sammy, who remained unbeaten on 26 from 15 balls.

Samuel's six of the five sixes came off speedster Lasith Malinga, who conceded 54 runs off his four overs. Ajantha Mendis returned figures of four for 12.
« Previous 1 | 2 Next »  
Vettel wins Japanese Grand Prix
ICC World T-20: West Indies crowned World Twenty20 champions
comments powered by Disqus


Lucky Kabootar Wallpapers

Shilpa Shetty Wallpapers

Holiday - A Soldier Is Never Off Duty Wallpapers
Hot Celebrities 


Mallika Sherawat

Kareena Kapoor
New Movies 

2 States

Lucky Kabootar

Dekh Tamasha Dekh

‘2 States’ song ‘Mast Magan’ featuring Alia Bhatt and Arjun Kapoor

Trailer: Allu Arjun-Shruti Haasan spice up 'Race Gurram'

Amole Gupte’s 'Hawaa Hawaai' trailer is impressive

Copyright © ApunKaChoice.com
ApunKaChoice.com : Latest Bollywood News, Bollywood Movies Reviews, Bollywood Wallpapers
privacy policy
Partner Sites : Sports - CricketZone - IndiaExpress.com [ Mobiles Festivals Bikes Cars ] - CardWeaver

photo gallery - new movies - celebs - wallpapers - the celeb A-Z - News & Gossip - Music - Video - Hot Topics
Anushka Sharma - Katrina Kaif - Kareena Kapoor - Priyanka Chopra - Deepika Padukone - Sonakshi Sinha - Aishwarya Rai - Poonam Pandey - Sherlyn Chopra
Salman Khan ( Bigg Boss 6 ) - Shahrukh Khan - Shahid Kapoor - Hrithik Roshan - Aamir Khan - Ranbir Kapoor